The American Massage Therapy Association’s volunteer board of directors and committees set the course for our chapter to best serve its members and professionals in the state.


Education Chair: Kristine Sweatt

Meeting and Planning Chair: Vacant

The Education Committee makes recommendations to the chapter board of directors for presenters at chapter educational events, recruits and communicates with potential presenters, and ensures that all educational presenters and events meet a high standard. The Education Committee plans and implements the chapter conference, working closely with the board.


As the most trusted professionals in massage therapy, American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) members are integral to health care and wellness.


Legislative and Florida Board of Massage Relations Chair:
Theresa Volk

Lobbyist: Janet Mabry

The Government Relations Committee advances the interests of the massage profession in the area of government regulation. This committee may work with other massage and bodywork associations or groups, massage schools and training programs, state agencies and departments, lobbyists, and local governments.


Membership Chair: Vacant

Social Media Chair: Harry Brencsons, Jr.

Website Chair: Marc Juneau

The Membership Committee is a vital element of the Florida Chapter as it facilitates communication between the other committees and work groups and serves as a bridge between members and AMTA-FL. The primary goals of the committee are to encourage and maintain membership by promoting the benefits of AMTA and to recruit chapter volunteers. This is accomplished in several ways such as conducting school visits; hosting local Meet-ups; and communicating with members via phone calls, emails, and social media. The success of our chapter is attributed to our members especially those who volunteer. There are several areas and committees to serve and volunteers are connected to the committee or work group that best suits their interests.


Communications Chair: Harry Brencsons, Jr.

Newsletter Chair: Jennifer Washington

Advertising Chair: Marc Juneau

The Communications Committee plans and coordinates the production and dissemination of the chapter communications and ensures that they meet appropriate quality and standards. The Communications chair oversees the function and delivery of the editorial content issued by the chapter on a regular or recurring basis through the following means: e-blasts, social media, e-newsletter, surveys, flyers/handouts, press releases, website, etc.


Commuity Service and Massage Therapy Awareness Week (MTAW) Chair:  Jean-Pierre DeBarros

The Outreach Committee coordinates volunteer members providing chair massage at public events under the banner of the AMTA-FL. The goal is to educate the public about the benefits of massage therapy and to increase the visibility of the massage therapy profession in a positive way.  National Massage Therapy Awareness Week is celebrated annually in October.


Awards Chair: Apply Now!

Historian: Apply Now!

The Awards Committee oversees the AMTA-FL Chapter awards program and presents names of award nominees to the chapter board for approval. As massage therapy continues to grow as a profession, the AMTA-FL Chapter deems it important to publicly recognize and award contributions to our industry, our therapists, and our association. Award recipients are highly regarded individuals, organizations, and advocates for massage residing both inside and outside of the massage profession, and have proven to be most effective at helping advance massage. Those on the Awards Committee are given the special privilege of setting the criteria, soliciting and reviewing the nominations, and narrowing the nominees to a handful of outstanding individuals and organizations for their contributions to massage and to our chapter.


Convention Chair: Jessica Sward

The Convention Committee plans and implements the annual state meeting and organizes planning for the AMTA National Convention.


Online Elections Coordinator: Laurel Freeman

Elections are held online as of 2018.  A call-for-candidate is released, submissions made, Bios posted, voting open for up to 14 days. These processes are managed by the Online Elections Coordinator.